## McLouth USD 342 Board of Education Special Board Meeting March 22, 2023

A. Call the Meeting to Order – Mrs. Troupe called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

## B. Roll Call

Board members present: Mrs. Pamela Carleton, Mrs. Heather Coit, Mr. James Copeland, Mrs. Tara Garrow, Mrs. Jennifer Harsh, Mr. Dean Wolfe and Mrs. Kim Troupe Also present: Mr. Jerome Johnson and Mrs. Lorie Patterson

- **C.** Approval of the Agenda Mr. Wolfe moved to approve the agenda as presented. Mrs. Harsh seconded. Motion carried 7-0.
- D. Executive Session Mr. Wolfe made a motion to go into executive session to discuss potential employees pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 5:11 p.m. Mr. Wolfe invited Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mrs. Coit seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 5:11 p.m. Mrs. Coit made a motion to return to executive session to discuss potential employees pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 5:40 p.m. Mrs. Coit invited Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. The board returned to open session at 5:40 p.m.
- E. Action Following Executive Session Mr. Wolfe moved to hire Mr. Seth Mills as a secondary math teacher, high school head football coach, middle school head boys basketball coach and summer weights/conditioning coach. Mrs. Harsh seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Mrs. Harsh made a motion to hire Mrs. Hannah David as a middle school assistant track coach for the current school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Mrs. Coit moved to hire Ms. Kelly Bushouse as the band instructor. Mrs. Harsh seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Mrs. Carleton moved to hire Mr. Cole Griffin as a secondary math teacher. Mr. Wolfe seconded. Motion carried 7-0.
- F. Adjourn Mrs. Troupe adjourned the meeting at 5:44 p.m.

Mr. Dean Wolfe, Vice President

Mrs. Lorie Patterson, Clerk