McLouth USD 342 Board of Education Regular Meeting November 13, 2023

A. Call the Meeting to Order – President Dean Wolfe called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

B. Roll Call

Board members present: Mrs. Pamela Carleton, Mrs. Heather Coit, Mrs. Tara Garrow, Mrs. Jennifer Harsh and Mr. Dean Wolfe

Board members absent: Mr. James Copeland

Also present: Mr. Jerome Johnson, Mrs. Lorie Patterson, Mr. Alan Hibdon, Mrs. Melissa Miller, Ms. Beverly Muzzy and Mr. Terry Reiling

- C. Hearing Regarding Enrollment of Nonresident Students' Policy
- **D.** Approval of the Agenda Mrs. Harsh moved to approve the agenda as presented. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- E. Consent Agenda Mrs. Harsh moved and Mrs. Coit seconded the motion to accept the Consent Agenda. The Consent Agenda consisted of the following items: a. Approval of Minutes from October 9, 2023 Regular Board Meeting and October 25, 2023 Special Board Meeting; b. Approval of Check Registers; c. Accept Treasurer's Report; and d. Accept the Resignation of Ms. Ravyn Jobbins-High School Assistant Volleyball Coach. The motion carried 5-0.
- F. Comments from the President None
- **G.** Administrative Reports
 - a. Superintendent
 - b. Elementary Principal
 - c. Secondary Principal
- H. Discussion and Possible Approval of JBCC Open Enrollment Policy Discussion
- I. Discussion and Possible Approval of Board Policy Update-Ongoing KASB Merger Mrs. Garrow moved to approve the board policy updates as presented. Mrs. Harsh seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- J. Keystone Update Mrs. Garrow provided an update.
- K. Executive Session Mrs. Garrow made a motion to go into executive session to discuss potential employees pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 7:36 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mrs. Harsh seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 7:36 p.m. Mrs. Garrow made a motion to return to executive session to discuss potential employees pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 7:41 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mrs. Harsh seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 7:41 p.m.

Mrs. Harsh left the meeting at 7:41 p.m.

L. Action Following Executive Session – Mrs. Garrow moved to approve Ms. Aubree Harsh as an assistant high school girls' basketball coach. Mrs. Coit seconded. Motion carried 4-0.

Mrs. Harsh returned to the meeting at 7:42 p.m.

Mrs. Garrow made a motion to approve coaches as presented for the fall of 2024. Mrs. Harsh seconded. Motion

carried 5-0.

- K. Executive Session Mrs. Garrow made a motion to go into executive session to discuss employee compensation pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 7:50 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mrs. Coit seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 7:50 p.m.
- **L. Action Following Executive Session** Mrs. Harsh moved to approve ESSER premium pay for the recruitment and retention of first semester staff. Mrs. Carleton seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- M. Other

N. Adjourn – Mr. Wolfe adjourned the meeting at 7:52 p.m.

Mr. Dean Wolfe, President

Mrs. Lorie Patterson, Clerk